Demfest: Senator Williams says he’s serious

(Lancaster) — Anthony Williams sure sounds like a serious candidate for governor.  Speaking in the lobby of the Lancaster Host, he said he’s got $500,000 in the bank, and he’s putting together the pieces of a campaign.

“I would consider myself a person who’s interested in the issues of people running for governor,” he said, “ And I would consider myself a person who’s interested in building a campaign for myself.”  Williams says he “anticipate[s] filing petitions, and I anticipate  trying to raise enough money to make myself competitive. And at that time, if I’m that fortunate, I’ll be a candidate.”

Williams has been talking to Chris Doherty, Jack Wagner, Joe Hoeffel and Dan Onorato, but says he hasn’t been too impressed with what he’s heard. “The conversations have been pleasant, and I think they have been genuine in their attempt. But I do find it curious that people are rushing to me to say, we understand your issues. …It takes a lot longer than a phone call or a cup of coffee.”

Williams is already flexing his war chest. “I have a half million dollars in the bank. Some of these other guys don’t have nearly that amount of money, and they’re asking me to join them.”

He’ll be taking part in tonight’s candidates forum.

About pubradiopolitics
Scott covers state government and politics for Pennsylvania's public radio stations, including WITF in Harrisburg, WHYY in Philadelphia and WDUQ in Pittsburgh.

Leave a Reply

