Corbett endorsement not a given, says Rohrer camp

State Representative Sam Rohrer isn’t sure whether he’ll endorse Republican nominee Tom Corbett – but Corbett says he’s not worried about securing the support of Rohrer’s conservative backers.

Rohrer’s base of supporters ended up being comparatively small – he garnered 31 percent of the Republican primary vote. But the conservatives, many of them Tea Party and 9-12 Project members, are devoted, and Rohrer say it may take some convincing to get them to vote for Corbett.

Speaking at an Allegheny County polling site on Tuesday, Rohrer said Corbett and the State Republican Party have some fence mending to do.

Rohrer campaign advisor Jeff Coleman says the campaign’s backers have “wide philosophical differences [with Corbett] of some of the more deeply held issues, like the Constitution.” “Those are difficult to reconcile,” he added.

At an Allegheny County Airport press conference this afternoon, Corbett insisted he reached out to conservative activists and grassroots groups throughout the primary. “So we’ve already begun that process. So I would disagree with Mr. Rohrer. I think many of his supporters and many of the independents out there will be coming on board with us.”

Corbett also says he’s also confident he can appeal to the Tea Party voters, while still wooing the state’s moderate independent and Democratic voters.

About pubradiopolitics
Scott covers state government and politics for Pennsylvania's public radio stations, including WITF in Harrisburg, WHYY in Philadelphia and WDUQ in Pittsburgh.

15 Responses to Corbett endorsement not a given, says Rohrer camp

  1. Pingback: Madonna: PA Tea Party candidates faltered… | GrassrootsPA

  2. Fairplay says:

    There is no way I’ll vote for Corbett. I think we should mount a write-in campaign if for no other reason than to shove our disillusionnmnet with the arrogance of the Republican Party in the party’s face.

  3. Ron Brobst says:

    I am suggesting to my county folk to write in Sam Rohrer, I don’t like or trust Corbett to stand up for the Constitution. Corbett must learn a lesson from his arrogant ways. All conservatives must vote for Rohrer as a write in.

  4. Joan Falcone says:

    I would not vote for Corbett if my life depended on it!
    He is the most arrogant, self absorbed man. We feel he is very disingenuous.
    What is so disappointing is to have thousands vote for a man like Sam Rohrer, who is a man of honor and integrity, and have him lose.
    Corbett even copied Sam’s pledge for no more taxes.
    Don’t hold your breath waiting for him to ever not
    increase taxes.

    • Sue Nelms says:

      Dear Joan,

      The fight isn’t over. Through the write-in campaign, “We The People” of Pennsylvania can gain the extra time that we needed before the primary to secure a win in November. But we must mobilize NOW.

      We’d love to have you join our team. http://www.patriotsforsamrohrer.org

      Hope to see you there.
      Sue Nelms

  5. vonneandring says:

    I don’t know what Sam’s plans will be, or how he will continue this cause. What I do know is that I no longer buy into the idea that we must unite a party. We are no longer, in any way, a part of the party. We hold no ownership, and no voice. We give our vote to give them power, not us. Uniting one party or the other has never been about us. It’s always been about them, and the sooner we wake up and see that we are being used, the easier the choices will be moving forward.

    If I were a Fascist, which I am not, but if I were, I would not give my vote to Adolph Hitler for the purposes of uniting the Fascist party. In the same spirit I will not give my vote to Tom Corbett.

    He has no solutions, but only rhetoric. He is under serious investigation for gross misappropriation of seized funds. The GOP hid this during the primary, and Sam was too honorable to exploit it. He attacks his own, and has no regard for others right to the 1st amendment. He neither respects nor understands the Constitution with special weakness toward the 2nd and 10th Amendments. His stand on the issues is owned by unions, gambling interests, trial lawyers, and many other special interests.

    No, I will not vote for Tom Corbett. He is arrogant to think Sam Rohrer supporters will jump ship because he won more votes. Corbett grossly over estimates himself, and insults Sam Rohrer once again. I’d vote for Hillary Clinton first–and I would never vote for her.

  6. Former Chesco R Supporter says:

    I’ve voted R all my life since my first vote in 1978 (except one local candidate). Can’t imagine myself voting D in a governor’s race but I will NOT/NEVER vote for this man (Corbett). He ignored us, he belittled us, he trashed a man of the highest integrity for his personal gain. Never have I seen a fellow R (Corbett is NOT a real republican) trash another the way he did. All they had to do was let the people decide our candidate instead of pouring special interest money on Corbett. Shame on my party.

    Ron Brobst said it right. I’ll be writing in Sam Rohrer. Disgusted with the party I’ve been so deeply involved with AND SENT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS TO since my first vote 32 years ago…..

    Listen up PA republican party…..

  7. jj says:

    voting for rohrer is a waste of time and space… here a guy who never had a bill passed in the house and we can trust sammy boy to hell no!!!!

  8. Jeremiah Light says:

    I was at odds as to vote for Corbett or not….but now after his lawsuit filed against Twitter for people saying stuff about him online I have made my decision. I WILL NOT VOTE FOR THIS EGOTISTICAL NUT JOB!!!!!!! Now I would love to see him file a law suit against me for that.

  9. Regina M. Bolger says:

    Mr. Corbett does not know the meaning of the words “reach out”. He came in the room LATE spoke his peace and never answered a question directly. He spued alot of garbage. And then had the arrogance to walk right out of the room and out the door. He NEVER GAVE THE PEOPLE IN THAT ROOM A CHANCE TO TALK TO HIM.

    Regina M. Bolger

  10. T Hertzler says:

    I’m writing in Sam or I will vote for a Dem. Corbett is NOT a guy I want running our State!

  11. Bekah Noullet says:

    I will write in Sam Rohrer and I will stand in rain again morning until night I will knock on more doors because Nov. is way off….
    I got to 222 Rep in my area the last time and more time to reach the rest

  12. Former Chesco R Supporter says:

    I’ve voted R all my life since my first vote in 1978 (except one local candidate). Can’t imagine myself voting D in a governor’s race but I will NOT/NEVER vote for this man (Corbett). He ignored us, he belittled us, he trashed a man of the highest integrity for his personal gain. Never have I seen a fellow R (Corbett is NOT a real republican) trash another the way he did. All they had to do was let the people decide our candidate instead of pouring special interest money on Corbett. Shame on my party.

    Ron Brobst said it right. I’ll be writing in Sam Rohrer. Disgusted with the party I’ve been so deeply involved with AND SENT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS TO since my first vote 32 years ago…..

    Listen up PA republican party…..

Leave a Reply

